About Forewind


The Forewind consortium originally comprised four leading international energy companies, which joined forces to successfully bid for the Dogger Bank Zone Development Agreement as part of The Crown Estate’s third licence round for UK offshore wind farms (Round 3). They were RWE (now innogy), SSE, Statoil and Statkraft. 

Forewind combined extensive experience of international offshore project delivery and renewables development, construction, asset management and operations, with UK utility expertise spanning the complete electricity value chain. The consortium was able to draw on exceptional financial strength and technical knowledge to prepare it for the extraordinary challenges facing Round 3 developers.

At the time of the consortium's formation, each of the owners – all leading players in their own right - understood that by joining forces they had a unique ability to both make a significant contribution to the future of wind energy in the UK and demonstrate commitment to the continuing development of offshore wind.

Forewind's aim was to secure all the necessary consents required for the construction and development of offshore wind at Dogger Bank. Planning approval for the first development, Dogger Bank Creyke Beck was granted in February 2015. Dogger Bank Teesside A&B was granted consent in August 2015. 

Forewind mission

''Achieve development consent for safe, technically deliverable and economically viable offshore wind on the Dogger Bank that will provide an attractive opportunity for investors.''


Registered address: 1 Kingdom Street, London W2 6BD  Registration number: 06779245